Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Safety levels with Ibuprofen and Tylenol

1. Default Safety levels with Ibuprofen and Tylenol

ive seen alot of posts asking about how safe is it to take Advil (ibuprofen) and Tylenol (acetaminophen) and what doses.

I studied pharmacology and i also have friends that are doctors, you can safely take up to 1,200mg of Ibuprofen and 1,000mg of Tylenol at the same time 4 times a day.

Thats the equivalent of 6 200mg Advil tablets, and 2 Extra strength 500mg Tylenol tablets. it doesnt matter if the tylenol has codeine or not as that doesnt affect the safety in the same way that these 2 are being considered

QVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant futureQVC1212 has a brilliant future

Tylenol you're right on the money. 1,000mg every four hours, a max of 6 *1,000 or 6g/day because four goes into 24 six times. But motrin/advil/ibuprofen the PA's at the clinic where I used to work used to say that the maximum safe dosage was 800mg four times per day, at a total max daily dose of 4*800 or 3,200mg. Some would err on the side of caution and say no, you can only take it safely 3 times daily. Either way, whenever you exceed the OTC of 200mg, you increase the risk of side effects such as stomach bleeding. Each time you go up, the risk goes up. For instance, at 800mg your risk of stomach bleeding is higher than that of 600mg. So you should only take those dosages under the supervision of a doctor.