Thread: fentanyl and drug testing......

Question fentanyl and drug testing......

Hello all, i too am new to this site and have grown to love it as much if not more than DBs. I have a pre-employement test coming up and im wondering if fentanyl is detectable by these tests( i am not sure what kind of test it is 5-9-12 panel). I am a truck driver and i am regulated by the DOT so i am held to a different standard then normal, so regardless of me having a script the rules say that i am not able to be on any kind of narco at all to continue driving, but the problem is i have degenerative bone disease and i cannot be without them. I would appriciate any and all input on this matter. if anyone needs to know the employer is SWIFT.

From a quick google search, I found a reference that seems to suggest a five panel is used for dot testing (Customer Testimonials). I believe fentanyl will not show on a five panel, but the only experience I have with drugs test is taking them (and occasionally failing them). Here is a list of what they are supposed to test for http://www.dot.gov/ost/dapc/NEW_DOCS...rt_f/40_85.pdf although the term "opiate metabolites" is very vague. Maybe you want to call up a lab and ask them? Hope this helps.

fairnymph is offline Member

I have a background in biology & chemistry, and I can tell you that fentanyl does NOT show up on 5-panel DOT drug tests. It is not chemically an opiate (it is a synthetic drug not derived from morphine), and requires a much more expensive GC/MS testing process. Even then, it is such a potent drug (i.e. so little by weight is needed) that it often fails to show up in urine.

As someone with chronic pain, I share your frustration. Competence, not urine, should be tested to gauge mental clarity & driving ability. I drive far worse unmedicated - in fact, I am unable to drive at all because I'm in too much pain.
    Helpful DancingWriter, NYJets Rated helpful

sixty9blunts is offline Member

@fairnymph