Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: is it normal to itch off morphine pills

1. Default is it normal to itch off morphine pills

i took 4 morphine pills and i got itchy all over my body and i was wondering if there is eny way of controlling that

2. Itching is a common side effect of opioid narcotics like morphine. Benadryl can help the symptoms, but be careful combining these two sedating medications.

3. Default Yes

The first time I had morphine was after surgery. I was itchy all night. The next morning I asked the nurse to request linens washed in hypo-allergenic detergents (Im a nurse and this does happen). She said it wasn't the linens it was the morphine. I am currently on Tramodol (not as good) and it also makes me itchy. All narcotic or narcotic like meds can have this side effect.

4. Thanks for sharing your experience, Depressedgal.

5. Itchiness is a very common side effect of morphine and most all narcotic pain relievers. There is very little you can do about it, one suggestion would be to take a lower dosage.

6. Itchiness is natures way of telling you that you are probably taking higher doses than
    prescribed. No judgment on my part. I would never think of taking the prescribed amt.
    Just be careful where you scratch.

7. Itching is due to histamine release, a common effect with opiates, especially with codeine. If you take benedryl, only take 25 mg oral about 1/2 hour before taking the narcotics it will probably help. Do not take more than 25mg, can lead to too much sedation.
    Helpful themoshx2 Rated helpful

8. Quote Originally Posted by BobBitchin View Post
    Itchiness is natures way of telling you that you are probably taking higher doses than
    prescribed. No judgment on my part. I would never think of taking the prescribed amt.
    Just be careful where you scratch.