Acetaminophen/Hydrocodone

Acetaminophen/Hydrocodone

 
4.3 (11)
This page displays reviews written by users of all forms of Acetaminophen/Hydrocodone. You can also choose to see reviews only for a specific medical condition or brand name.
Write Review

Reviews for Acetaminophen/Hydrocodone

See reviews for a different combination of brand names and medical conditions:
     

Average user rating from: 11 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.6  (11)
 
4.5  (11)
 
3.9  (11)

Please register before leaving a review. (Registration is instant, takes less than one minute, and you will not have to leave this page.)

Benefits of registration:

  • Your review will be treated as more reliable by anyone who visits this site.
  • You will be notified if anyone comments on your review.
  • You will also become a member of the highly active Pharmacy Reviewer Forum.

Register now...

Already have an account?

Alternatively you can leave a review semi-anonymously using the form below. (Please note that we manually check each review before publication and your email address must be valid in case we need to confirm aspects of your review with you.)

In all cases your details will remain confidential and will never be sold or shared.

By registering you will become a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer Forum, but you must agree to the Forum Rules.
Register
Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition
Additional Information
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall satisfaction
  • Efficacy
  • Lack of side effects
Please tell us about your experience with this medicine

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Norco
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.5
Reviewed by Robin Beveridge December 10, 2016

robin

I feel like I can move again. I get so stiff when I sleep it is hard to get going in the morning then at night I cant stand the pain

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Lortab
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
February 25, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

No complaints

I have been taking this off and on for almost 5 years now. At only 17, I have had several dental problems since my permanent teeth have came. I have had my adult teeth for about 5 years now. I do take good care of my teeth and I brush very thoroughly, so I know that isn't my problem. I have had toothache after toothache, root canal after root canal, abscess after abscess, and even 2 extractions, 1 of which was a surgical extraction. The medication helps with the pain better than anything else for pain. I don't take it every day so I won't get addicted. Usually 5mg doesn't do much for me, but the 7.5mg dosage is perfect for me. It doesn't take away the pain completely, but it makes it where I can tolerate it. To take it away completely, I take the medicine with Bayer Advanced Aspirin. The only problem I have with hydrocodone is that it makes me itch, otherwise no complaints.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Lortab
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
3.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.5
February 25, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Causes major constipation

I have taken Lortab 10/325 for two years off an on for lower back pain, and herniated disk in my neck. Taken every 4 hours works best for me, doctor wants me to take every 6 hours, some days I need it every 4hs. Causes major constipation.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Lortab
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
1 month - 6 months
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
February 25, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Great pain reliever

Great pain reliever if you need it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Norco
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
1 month - 6 months
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
3.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
February 22, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

After 20 minutes, the pain is manageable

After 20 minutes, the pain is manageable. So far, even though I have read negative remarks that are a bit worrisome, I hope can continue to benefit from it because nothing so far as worked. I wonder how long most physicians are comfortable prescribing it.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Norco
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
February 22, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

I never take more than 2 pills per day

I have RA and oddly this drug raises my energy level so I can function. I never take more than 2 pills per day whether it is effective or not, but most times it works great. Without it I can do nothing.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Norco
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
February 22, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Works very fast

medication works very fast to relieve pain. medication is effective from 4 to 6 hrs.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
2.5
Reviewed by John February 13, 2014
Last updated: February 13, 2014

Norco and others

Norco is my Hydrocodone combination product of choice due to the lowest Tylenol (Acetaminophen) dosage available in all Hydrocodone combination products. That would mean more Hydrocodone could be taken with less chance for damage to the liver by Acetaminophen. Other products such as Lortab, Lorcet and Vicodin had 500 mg , 650 mg and even 750 mg per tablet. Wouldn't take many to exceed the maximum of 4000 mg of Acetaminophen daily before liver damage is possible. Now the FDA is requiring no Hydrocodone-APAP (acetaminophen ) product have no more than 325 mg of Tylenol in the tablet. Therefore there are now combination products with as low as 300 mg of Tylenol per Tab. Many OTC analgesic medication contain Tylenol (Acetaminophen, APAP) in the mixture. Goody's, BC Powders and many other contain Tylenol. Be careful when combining OTC analgesics and Hydrocodone-APAP products to treat pain. Insure that no more than 4000 mg combined from all products is not consumed in 24 hours to avoid liver damage or failure. If you consume alcohol the recommended total dose is less than 2000 mg daily. Be safe.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Vicodin
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
3.5
Lack of side effects 
 
2.5
Reviewed by GoOnAndWalkItOut February 09, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)
GoOnAndWalkItOut is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 103
Reputation Score: 111
User Title: Senior Member

My old dance partner...

I have taken Vicodin on and off for around 10 years now. Sadly, it just doesn't seem to get the job done anymore, but that's more a result of my spinal pain getting worse than it is the medicine. That being said, it obviously has some nasty side effects that range from a bit annoying to wishing you'd have never picked up a bottle of it in your life. Addiction can result pretty easy, and dependence is an absolute given. You also begin to build up a tolerance fast, which means you are taking increasing doses of the drug to achieve relief. For what it is used for, it's a great compound. It works well for moderate pain, but there are other drugs out there that work just as well, if not better, without the large amounts of acetaminophen.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Lortab
Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
4.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
January 31, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Lortab and Migraines

This is my experience with Lortab. Hope it helps.

I have had debilitating migraine headaches for many years. Unfortunately I'm one of the few who are allergic to Imitrex and similar meds - I had a severe reaction to it. My doctor has prescribed Lortab 7.5mg with 325mg of acetaminophen for pain. Flashing lights and vision changes are my first clue a migraine is coming. If I take one Lortab as soon as this starts, I can rest in a quiet dark place for 30-60 minutes and usually fight the migraine off. If I don't take this med quickly at the first sign, it develops into a major problem and takes more medicine to work. I've had migraines last for 4 days without any relief until I had to go to ER and get a shot of strong narcotic to relieve my agony.
For me, having my doctor prescribe Lortab saves me many days of misery. I'm glad to have a doctor who understands my problems and trusts me enough to prescribe it for me.

Side effects I noticed: Dry mouth, sometimes nausea (but migraines also cause nausea, so hard to judge how much is the medicine and how much the headache?). Sometimes due to stress, weather, or ? I may have several days in a row where I have to take the med to fight off migraines - when this happens the Lortab causes constipation. Those are the only side effects I've noticed and they are nothing compared to the agony of a full-blown migraine that won't go away for days.

I watch amount of acetaminophen I'm taking when I must take this med for pain, like all other products with acetaminophen in them, after reading a lot of bad stuff about too much acetaminophen damaging the liver.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Medical Condition
Pain

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.5
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
2.0
Reviewed by darwin January 24, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (6)
darwin is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 27
Reputation Score: 37
User Title: Member

Hydrocodone for Moderate Pain

I have taken hydrocodone for back pain and arthritis for a few years. I've also taken hydrocodone post-surgery. I find hydrocodone to be a wonderful drug for moderate pain.

While hydrocodone doesn't erase all the pain, it makes an arthritic flare manageable. Hydrocodone also makes my back pain tolerable so I can sleep. That's how hydrocodone is the most useful for me - being comfortable so I can sleep. Combining this med with a muscle relaxer, as prescribed by my doctor, gives me a good night's sleep whereas if I were without both medications, sleep would evade me.

The nasty side effects are nausea, drowsiness, and constipation. This drug is very hard on my gut, which is a big downside and a deterrent. To minimize the side effects, I make sure that I am ready to go to bed when I take a dose (I take one 5/325 mg hydrocodone/acetaminophen). I also eat something so I don't get sick/nauseous. And the constipation that comes with this drug? Drink plenty of water, eat lots of fiber, and don't take the med any more than I have to.

While I wouldn't call hydrocodone a miracle drug, it is a nice med to have on hand for the conditions I have. When an Ibuprofen or aspirin can't take care of the pain and I need the next level of pain relief, hydrocodone is what I reach for.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

More about Acetaminophen/Hydrocodone

What is/are Hydrocodone?

Hydrocodone is a semi-synthetic opioid derived from codeine. Hydrocodone is used orally as narcotic analgesic and antitussive, often in combination with paracetamol (acetaminophen) or ibuprofen.[1] Hydrocodone is prescribed predominantly in the United States. International Narcotics Control Board reports that 99% of worldwide supply in 2007 was consumed in the United States.

Medical uses

Hydrocodone is used to treat moderate to severe pain and as an antitussive to treat cough.[1] It is approximately 1.5 times less potent opioid than oxycodone. Analgesic action of hydrocodone begins 20–30 minutes after taking it and lasts 4–8 hours.

Adverse effects

Common side effects of hydrocodone are nausea, vomiting, constipation, drowsiness, dizziness, lightheadedness, fuzzy thinking, anxiety, abnormally happy or sad mood, dry throat, difficulty urinating, rash, itching, and narrowing of the pupils. Serious side effects include slowed or irregular breathing and chest tightness.

Several cases of progressive bilateral hearing loss unresponsive to steroid therapy have been described as an infrequent adverse reaction to hydrocodone/acetaminophene combination. This adverse effect has been considered due to the ototoxicity of hydrocodone. Recently, researchers suggested that acetaminophen is the primary agent responsible for the ototoxicity.

It is in FDA pregnancy category C. No adequate and well-controlled studies in humans have been conducted. A newborn of a mother taking opioid medications regularly prior to the birth will be physically dependent. The baby may also exhibit respiratory depression if the opioid dose was high. An epidemiological study indicated that opioid treatment during early pregnancy results in increased risk of various birth defects.

Symptoms of hydrocodone overdose include narrowed or widened pupils; slow, shallow, or stopped breathing; slowed or stopped heartbeat; cold, clammy, or blue skin; excessive sleepiness; loss of consciousness; seizures; and death.

Hydrocodone can be habit-forming, causing physical and psychological dependence. Its abuse liability is similar to morphine and less than oxycodone.

Contraindications and interactions

Patients consuming alcohol, other opioids, antihistamines, antipsychotics, antianxiety agents, or other central nervous system (CNS) depressants together with hydrocodone may exhibit an additive CNS depression. Hydrocodone may interact with serotonergic medications.

Pharmacology

As a narcotic, hydrocodone relieves pain by binding to opioid receptors in the CNS. It acts primarily on μ-opioid receptors, with about six times lesser affinity to δ-opioid receptors. In blood, 20-50% of hydrocodone is bound to protein.

Studies have shown hydrocodone is stronger than codeine but only one-tenth as potent as morphine at binding to receptors and reported to be only 59% as potent as morphine in analgesic properties. However, in tests conducted on rhesus monkeys, the analgesic potency of hydrocodone was actually higher than morphine. Per os hydrocodone has a MEDD factor of .4, meaning that 1 mg of hydrocodone is equivalent to .4 mg of intravenous morphine. However, because of morphine's low oral bioavailability, there is a 1:1 correspondence between orally administered morphine and orally administered hydrocodone

Pharmacokinetics

Hydrocodone is biotransformed by the liver into several metabolites, and has a serum half-life that averages 3.8 hours.The hepatic cytochrome P450 enzyme CYP2D6 converts it into hydromorphone, a more potent opioid. However, extensive and poor cytochrome 450 CYP2D6 metabolizers had similar physiological and subjective responses to hydrocodone, and CYP2D6 inhibitor quinidine did not change the responses of extensive metabolizers, suggesting that inhibition of CYP2D6 metabolism of hydrocodone has no practical importance. Ultrarapid CYP2D6 metabolizers (1-2% of the population) may have an increased response to hydrocodone; however, hydrocodone metabolism in this population has not been studied.

A major metabolite, norhydrocodone, is predominantly formed by CYP3A4-catalyzed oxidation. Inhibition of CYP3A4 in a child who was, in addition, a poor CYP2D6 metabolizer, resulted in a fatal overdose of hydrocodone. Approximately 40% of hydrocodone metabolism is attributed to non-cytochrome catalyzed reactions.

Recreational use

Many users of hydrocodone report a sense of satisfaction, especially at higher doses. A number of users also report a warm or pleasant numbing sensation throughout the body, one of the most well known effects of narcotics. Withdrawal symptoms may include, but are not limited to; severe pain, pins and needles sensation throughout body, sweating, extreme anxiety and restlessness, sneezing, watery eyes, fever, depression, stomach cramps, diarrhea, and extreme drug cravings, among others. Taking over 4,000 milligrams (4 grams) of paracetamol in a period of 24 hours can result in paracetamol overdose and severe hepatotoxicity; doses in the range of 15,000–20,000 milligrams a day have been reported as fatal.

Taking hydrocodone with grapefruit juice is one of the measures to enhance its narcotic effect. It is believed that CYP3A4 inhibitors in grapefruit juice may decrease metabolism of hydrocodone, although there has been no research into this issue.

Detection in body fluids

Hydrocodone may be quantitated in blood, plasma or urine to monitor for misuse, confirm a diagnosis of poisoning or assist in a medicolegal death investigation. Many commercial opiate screening tests cross-react appreciably with hydrocodone and its metabolites, but chromatographic techniques can easily distinguish hydrocodone from other opiates. Blood or plasma hydrocodone concentrations are typically in the 5-30 µg/L range in persons taking the drug therapeutically, 100-200 µg/L in abusers and 0.1-1.6 mg/L in cases of acute fatal overdosage.

History

Hydrocodone was first synthesized in Germany in 1920 by Carl Mannich and Helene Löwenheim. It was approved by the Food and Drug Administration on 23 March 1943 for sale in the United States and approved by Health Canada for sale in Canada under the brand name Hycodan.

This article uses material from the Wikipedia article Hydrocodone , which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.