Alprazolam

Alprazolam

 
3.5 (12)
This page displays reviews written by users of all forms of Alprazolam. You can also choose to see reviews only for a specific medical condition or brand name.
Write Review

Reviews for Alprazolam

See reviews for a different combination of brand names and medical conditions:
     

Average user rating from: 12 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
3.8  (12)
 
4.1  (12)
 
2.7  (12)

Please register before leaving a review. (Registration is instant, takes less than one minute, and you will not have to leave this page.)

Benefits of registration:

  • Your review will be treated as more reliable by anyone who visits this site.
  • You will be notified if anyone comments on your review.
  • You will also become a member of the highly active Pharmacy Reviewer Forum.

Register now...

Already have an account?

Alternatively you can leave a review semi-anonymously using the form below. (Please note that we manually check each review before publication and your email address must be valid in case we need to confirm aspects of your review with you.)

In all cases your details will remain confidential and will never be sold or shared.

By registering you will become a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer Forum, but you must agree to the Forum Rules.
Register
Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition
Additional Information
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Overall satisfaction
  • Efficacy
  • Lack of side effects
Please tell us about your experience with this medicine

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
0.5
Reviewed by Daniel Yingling September 16, 2016

Zanax for a lifetime

I took Zanax for more than 20 years with a few breaks in treatment until I was forced to take higher doses to help with opiate withdrawal. I was in a hospital setting to get off zanax. I had 3 grand Mal seizures, and thought I was going to die for about 1 month. It took about 2 years to feel normal again. I dropped stuff, got lost, couldn't remember anything. The worst and scariest withdrawal you can imagine so BE CAREFUL. DON'T TAKE MORE THAN 4MG PER DAY. EVER OR YOU WILL HAVE SEIZURES LIKE ME.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
0.5
Efficacy  
 
0.5
Lack of side effects 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Dwgrind February 25, 2016
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)
Dwgrind is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 1
Reputation Score: 8
User Title: Member

Pex-2 Counterfeit

I order Pex-2 recently and tried them on three consecutive nights. I have taken ALP every other night for sleeping for about 2 year. I lt has helped my insomnia greatly. This was my first experience with Pex-2 (2mg) ALP

Night 1 - I took 1 pill and went to bed in an hour. Two hours later I was wide awake with no ALP type edfect. Night 2 I took 1 one hour before bed. No effect. Night 3 - I took 2 pills two hours before bed. No effect. I reached out to the site and they declined any customer service or replacement. Just from my experience, stay with the 1 mg football shaped ALP. I've never had a problem with them from USA, Romania, or India.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
2.5
Reviewed by skylar January 16, 2016
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
skylar is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 11
Reputation Score: 15
User Title: Member

xanax

I have been prescribed Xanax, alprazolam, klonopin, Ativan, and a few other that were non-contred anti-anxiety medications. Xanax is effective. If you have anxiety, mainly social anxiety or suffer from panic attacks, Xanax is going to work very well for you. However, as others posted, it is short lived, leaves a lot of people with such a swing of mood and emotion, that the side-effects are not fun. The ability to build a tolerance to this medication is too advanced. I have taken it several years, but it is crazy how much I can take and still function, feel normal, and need to help my anxiety.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Xanax
Medical Condition
Anxiety

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.0
Reviewed by msaok May 25, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Xanax by Pfizer

Xanax is a fairly quick and effective reliever of anxiety for me.
It was prescribed several years ago, when I was coping with the uncertain health of a close family member.
When I was taking it 3 times/ day, my mood tanked and it was determined to be a side effect from this med.
Since then, I have taken it only as a fail-safe, when I can not manage my anxiety through other measures.
I now employ many nonpharmacologic methods of easing my symptoms (because as I stated recently on the forum), I have a reverence for this med's power with respect to its efficacy AND its addictive potential.
As a short term and infrequent fix, it seems pretty safe.



Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Xanax
Medical Condition
Panic Disorder

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
2.0
May 23, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Highly effective for chronic PD, and those with sp

Life saver for those with chronic panic disorder like myself. Also take when high levels of acute anxiety (stressful periods in life) come along. I gave Efficacy a 5, but I have on occasion gotten low quality (e.g. Mylan product) from filling a scripts at CVS. Most name brand generics are fine. stick with brand names beside mylan and they all seem highly effective. so check with your pharmacy on brand in stock before handing them your script.

The only negative "side effect" IMO is the potential to develop dependency and/or dose creep. Varies by user from what I have read (many can stay at a constant PRN use and never increase dose, others not so). No negative daily side effects for me, but I went with 2 stars for side effects based on risk of long term use for many.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Xanax
Medical Condition
Anxiety

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
0.5
Reviewed by kindness April 20, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
kindness is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 597
Reputation Score: 563
User Title: Distinguished Member

Alprazolam

Alprazolam has been a life saver for me. I have had many issues with panic attacks over the years. Not only does it stop my panic attacks from happening, it also stops them while they are happening. It works very quickly when I take it on an empty stomach.
It makes me feel confident, and lowers my social fears.
While the pros are very high for me, the cons are really bad. It only stays in your system for 4-6 hours. Therefore, your body craves more. Many people (although not all) begin to develop a tolerance for it, so higher doses are needed. Also, withdrawal is very dangerous. It should not be stopped immediately.
I think it is best to be used for short term...never long term, as it is so addicting for so many people.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Xanax
Medical Condition
Anxiety

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
2.5
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
1.0
February 26, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

I hope this review helps

I find Greenstone brand xanax extremely effective for panic disorder episodes which is the initial reason I was prescribed xanax over 22 years ago. It works quickly and definitely takes away the feeling of not being able to breathe, rapid heartbeat, the feeling of impending doom and other symptoms associated with panic disorder. I gave overall efficacy a 5 star rating because it is effective for panic disorder and anxiety. However, over the years of taking xanax for panic disorder I now have anxiety that is almost constant instead of "episodes" of panic; so my need to take xanax has become daily not as needed.

If I had known the side effects, dangers of withdrawal, and that it was highly addictive I may have chosen another route to my issues but when I was prescribed xanax I was never informed of any of this. I initially was prescribed 6mg of xanax daily which is a large beginning dosage in my opinion.

I now have been maintaining a 2mg a day dosage for about 18 years and have tried to stop taking them with another doctor's help but felt like I was coming apart at the seams, it was so horrible that I made the decision to continue at my 2mg a day dose. It's very difficult to explain how I felt for 2 months after I was weaned off of the xanax with a moderate dose of klonipin which was then discontinued also. I literally felt like I was being ripped apart from myself however I believe that was probably done years ago from taking the xanax in the first place.

I read the other review on here and I would agree that memory loss is a troublesome side affect, along with a general feeling of disassociation from reality at times, and it's highly addictive. I've tried to hold off taking a pill as soon as I wake up and the longest I have lasted is about an hour without feeling like I need one and feeling like I'm shaking inside, it's quite horrible to feel that dependent on any medication.

My 2.5 rating for overall satisfaction is because it is effective for panic disorder and anxiety but at what cost? I have always told my children if you don't want to get addicted to cigarettes then don't ever start smoking in the first place. I hope this helps someone before they have the choice to begin this medication, to think of the long term effects.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Xanax
Medical Condition
Panic Disorder

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
4.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.5
Reviewed by Poink February 16, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)
Poink is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 521
Reputation Score: 203
User Title: Distinguished Member

Only As A Last Resort

None of my Doctors will prescribe Xanax for me (I don't blame them)because of my history of substance abuse but I am open with my psychiatrist that I have Xanax and will continue to take them when absolutely necessary. He prescribes me some mild anti-anxiety drugs, but they won't pull me out of a panic episode or major anxiety event once it starts, whereas I can put a Xanax under my tongue and in 15 minutes or less things start smoothing out. I am fully aware of how addictive they are and I treat them accordingly, but I try to always have one handy just in case.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Xanax
Medical Condition
Depression

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
3.5
Lack of side effects 
 
3.0
February 11, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Xanax has been very helpful in calming me

Xanax has been very helpful in calming me when I have had severe anxiety. I know it is habit forming but there are worse things in life than being dependant on a drug, I believe. I have a severe mental illness and I need this. My doctor refuses to prescribe enough for me because it is a controlled substance, but I really need it. I believe if I had this in the past I would have not been fired from so many jobs because of my anxiety.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Xanax
Medical Condition
Anxiety

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.5
Efficacy  
 
3.5
Lack of side effects 
 
3.5
February 11, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

It's hell

memory loss is a big downer, I have been taking 10 xanax a day for four years, now trying to get off, and it's hell. why any Dr. would prescribe this many pills a day, should be shot. hard to come off of.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Xanax
Medical Condition
Panic Disorder

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.0
February 11, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Using Xanax far Panic Disorder

Been using Xanax far Panic Disorder.It has been a live saver far me.My doctor wants to cut me down and put me on another medication.He said ,I will no longer be able to get the med. I'm on in Oct. I am afraid .I can barely afford the medication I'm on .I have been through this before with other Dr's wanting to put me on two or more Med's .I don't like taking all that medication.I just want to feel normal.And zanax has been the only one to help me . What am I to do.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Xanax
Medical Condition
Panic Disorder

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
1 month - 6 months
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.5
February 11, 2014
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

The only down side is they ARE addictive

I have a severe panic disorder. After having a breakdown inmy doctor's office she prescribed me this drug for me. It has been a miracle and I can SLEEP and function during the day like an almost normal person. The only down side is they ARE addictive. Take as prescribed ONLY and don't run out of them early. I did and was up for FIVE DAYS!!! So I went back to only take as needed and it's been really great. G.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

More about Alprazolam

Drug Name: XANAX

XANAX DESCRIPTION:
ALPRAZOLAM-ORAL (al-PRAZZ-oh-lam)

COMMON XANAX BRAND NAME(S):
Xanax

XANAX SIDE EFFECTS:
Drowsiness, incoordination, headache, fatigue, change in sex drive, change in appetite, change in weight, difficulty urinating or stomach upset may occur the first few days as your body adjusts to the medication. If any of these effects continue or become bothersome, inform your doctor. To relieve dry mouth, suck on (sugarless) hard candy or ice chips, chew (sugarless) gum, drink water or use saliva substitute. Notify your doctor if you develop: rapid/pounding/irregular heartbeat, skin rash, changes in vision, slurred speech, confusion, depression, behavioral changes. If you notice other effects not listed above, contact your doctor or pharmacist.

HOW TO USE XANAX:
XANAX: Take XANAX by mouth exactly as prescribed. Do not take this more often, increase your dose or take this longer than directed without consulting your doctor. Do not suddenly stop taking XANAX if you have been taking this regularly for several weeks. Your dose will need to be gradually decreased to prevent side effects.

XANAX USES:
XANAX has a calming effect. It is used to relieve anxiety, nervousness and tension in the treatment of anxiety disorders and panic disorders.

XANAX PRECAUTIONS:
Tell your doctor if you have: kidney problems, liver disease, glaucoma, muscle weakness, history of drug dependence, any allergies. XANAX may cause drowsiness or dizziness. Use caution operating machinery or engaging in activities requiring alertness. Limit intake of alcohol while taking XANAX since it may aggravate drowsiness and dizziness. Alprazolam is is not recommended for use during pregnancy. Consult your doctor before using XANAX. XANAX passes into breast milk and may harm a nursing infant. Nursing while using alprazolam is not recommended. Consult your doctor before breast-feeding. The elderly may be more sensitive to the effects of this medication and should use XANAX carefully.

XANAX DRUG INTERACTIONS:
Tell your doctor of any over-the-counter or prescription medication you take, including: anti-seizure drugs, antidepressants, narcotic pain relievers, erythromycin-like antibiotics, cimetidine, sleeping pills, tranquilizers, azole antifungals. Do not start or stop any medicine without doctor or pharmacist approval.

XANAX OVERDOSE:
If overdose is suspected, contact your local poison control center or emergency room immediately. Symptoms of overdose may include confusion, slow reflexes, clumsiness, deep sleep, and loss of consciousness.

XANAX NOTES:
XANAX when used in high doses or for prolonged periods of time can lead to dependence. Therefore, it is important to follow your dosing instructions closely.

MISSED XANAX DOSE:
If you miss a dose, take it as soon as remembered; do not take it if it is near the time for the next dose, instead, skip the missed dose and resume your usual dosing schedule. Do not "double-up" the dose to catch up.

XANAX STORAGE:
Store XANAX at room temperature between 59 and 86 degrees F (15 to 30 degrees C) away from heat, light and moisture. Do not store in the bathroom. Keep this and all medications out of the reach of children.

Detection in body fluids

Alprazolam may be quantitated in blood or plasma to confirm a diagnosis of poisoning in hospitalized patients, provide evidence in an impaired driving arrest or to assist in a medicolegal death investigation. Blood or plasma alprazolam concentrations are usually in a range of 10–100 μg/L in persons receiving the drug therapeutically, 100–300 μg/L in those arrested for impaired driving and 300–2000 μg/L in victims of acute overdosage. Most commercial immunoassays for the benzodiazepine class of drugs will cross-react with alprazolam, but confirmation and quantitation is usually performed using chromatographic techniques.

Pharmacology

Alprazolam is classed as a high-potency benzodiazepine and is a triazolobenzodiazepine, namely a benzodiazepine with a triazole ring attached to its structure. Benzodiazepines produce a variety of therapeutic and adverse effects by binding to the benzodiazepine receptor site on the GABAA receptor and modulating the function of the GABA receptor, the most prolific inhibitory receptor within the brain. The GABA chemical and receptor system mediates inhibitory or calming effects of alprazolam on the nervous system. The GABAA receptor is made up of 5 subunits out of a possible 19, and GABAA receptors made up of different combinations of subunits have different properties, different locations within the brain, and, importantly, different activities with regard to benzodiazepines. Benzodiazepines and in particular alprazolam causes a marked suppression of the hypothalamicpituitary-adrenal axis. The therapeutic properties of alprazolam are similar to other benzodiazepines and include anxiolytic, anticonvulsant, muscle relaxant, hypnotic and amnesic.

Administration of alprazolam has been demonstrated to elicit an increase in striatal dopamine concentrations.

History

Alprazolam was first released by Upjohn (now a part of Pfizer). It is covered under U.S. Patent 3,987,052, which was filed on 29 October 1969, granted on 19 October 1976, and expired in September 1993. Alprazolam was released in 1981. The first approved indication was panic disorder. Alprazolam was originally perceived to have been a poor investment, as Upjohn management did not believe there to be a market for panic disorder-oriented anxiolytics. However, alprazolam soon proved itself in clinical phase, FDA-mandated trials. It become a blockbuster drug with two years of its original marketing in the US market. Today, it is clinically known for not only anxiolytic properties, but also a forgiving and statistically significant anti-depressant profile, given its triazolebenzodiazepine skeletal structure, it does maintain some affinity for serotonergic receptors.[93] Today it is the most commonly prescribed benzodiazepine in the United States, and has been available as generic instant-release and extended-release tablets for years.

Alprazolam may be also be indicated for the treatment of Generalized Anxiety Disorder, as well as for the treatment of anxiety conditions with co-morbid depression. Alprazolam is also often prescribed with instances of hypersomnia and co-morbid sleep deficits.

This article uses material from the Wikipedia article Alprazolam , which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0.

Medicine Photos

Hover or click on a photo to enlarge it.

Medicine containing Niravam

Medicine containing Xanax

Medicine containing Alprazolam

This page uses publicly available data from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services; NLM is not responsible for the page and product and does not endorse or recommend this or any other product.