Zolpidem

 
3.2 (13)
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Overall satisfaction 
 
2.5
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
2.0
Reviewed by pennyc July 13, 2014
Last updated: July 15, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (7)
pennyc is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 77
Reputation Score: 65
User Title: Senior Member

Ambien Works TOO Long for Me!

I have struggled with insomnia for most of my adult life. When I tried Ambien, it worked wonders to put me to sleep and keep me asleep, but then 8 hours later, I still slept. It took about 12 hours to feel normal again. Just too long acting for me.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Ambien
Medical Condition
Insomnia

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
2.5
Reviewed by Ray March 18, 2014

Zolpidem

I began waking every hour thru the night. Explained this to my doctor & he suggested my taking Zolpidem 10mg. I had heard horror stories about this medicine including horrible dreams, sleepwalking, even driving a car to MacDonalds not realizing she had left the house. My doctor assured me if I took it the way it was written & stayed away from all alcohol, I would be fine. I was. I take 1 tab at 11pm & am asleep by 11:20pm. It has been the same for 21/2 years. I've had insomnia since my teens. I tried drinking to fall asleep, no good. I took halcion which worked for 2 weeks then insomnia came back. I did feel a ill groggy the first two days after beginning this med. but has been great ever since.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Ambien
Medical Condition
Insomnia

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
5.0
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
Reviewed by DrMongo January 25, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
DrMongo is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 77
Reputation Score: 119
User Title: Senior Member

Ambien (better than a Benzo in my opinion for inso

It works and I get a great anxiolytic affect to.

I f I wasn't using this I'd be drinking to get to sleep.

Therefore, it comes on fast and wears off fast. Really helps me because I stress a lot at night.

I prefer it to any benzo, because it wears off so fast.

However, it is addictive, for me not physical (that I can detect) but definitely psychologically.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Ambien
Medical Condition
Insomnia

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.5
Efficacy  
 
4.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.5
Reviewed by Kimbo January 24, 2014
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (2)
Kimbo is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 407
Reputation Score: 665
User Title: Honorable Member

Zolpimist

I have used Ambien since it first hit the market. Dr presribed Zolpimist (the spray) form of Zolpidem/Ambien because of it's rapid action onset and it can be taken shortly after a meal. Pill form Zolpidem requires you need to wait 2 hours at least after lady meal.
Also ideal for sleeping during flights to assist with jet lag, as you can control dosage to 5 mg by reducing spray pumps.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Ambien
Medical Condition
Insomnia

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
3.0
November 06, 2016
Reviewed anonymously by a forum member

Good for sleep


I cut the zolpidem 10 mg into small pieces. With my sleep cycle, I wake up every two hours or so. I'll take a little piece and then-back to sleep. Works well (my version of Ambien CR). I do not take any after 8 hours of sleep. I have no side effects. There is tolerance, when I stop taking the medication, there are several sleepless nights. Sleep is important to restore the body, without it the risk of stroke, heart attack, and metabolic disorder increases dramatically, so it is valuable for sleep and health.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Overall satisfaction 
 
2.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
1.0
Reviewed by msaok February 06, 2014
Last updated: February 07, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (14)

Worked but side effects were prohibitive

The rapid and powerful onset of this medicine was impressive.
Therefore, I don't recommend taking it 'til immediately before getting into bed.
Unfortunately, I experienced auditory hallucinations and increased anxiety, so I was unable to take it on a long term basis.
I didn't try the longer acting version, but like most other LA meds, I suspect the punch would be less and the duration longer.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Ambien
Medical Condition
Insomnia

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
4.0
Efficacy  
 
4.0
Lack of side effects 
 
2.5
Reviewed by Alicenwonderland January 23, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
Alicenwonderland is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 1036
Reputation Score: 1747
User Title: Eminent Member

ambien helps me sleep like a baby

I've taken this off and on for a couple years. I was prescribed it by an internist who diagnosed me with fibromyalgia and insomnia (the two usually go hand in hand). I get the 10mg because for me I needed more than the 6.5. I fall asleep right away and can continue sleeping until the morning. The problem I alwAys had was staying asleep not just falling asleep. I feel I bit groggy when i first wake up but after 20min I'm ok to go on with my day

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
6 months - 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.5
Efficacy  
 
3.5
Lack of side effects 
 
3.5
Reviewed by cupcake62 October 03, 2015
Top 100 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
cupcake62 is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 1
Reputation Score: 4
User Title: Member

Ambien

I have used ambien for years. I think it is the best one for me, but maybe not for others. I wish someone could give me a site or two that is legit so I can purchase more.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Ambien
Medical Condition
Insomnia

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.0
Efficacy  
 
3.5
Lack of side effects 
 
2.0
Reviewed by GoOnAndWalkItOut February 09, 2014
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (5)
GoOnAndWalkItOut is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 103
Reputation Score: 111
User Title: Senior Member

Zolpidem is strange for me...

Most of my experiences with Ambien have pleasant, and they worked as they should have on most of those occasions. I used to read the reports of sleep walking and laugh internally, me believing that it is simply not possible to do. Well, I found out one night. I trashed my bedroom up pretty badly, and when I woke up I was on my hands and knees on the floor of my bedroom! This only happened one time, out of literally hundreds, so it's just an anomaly. However, there is always the issue of taking the meds, and they simply not working for it's intended purpose. It's pretty easy to stay awake on Ambien if you aren't really tired when you took it anyway. Overall, I like Ambien for the simple reason that I've had more positive experiences than negatives...

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Ambien
Medical Condition
Insomnia

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Overall satisfaction 
 
5.0
Efficacy  
 
3.5
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
Reviewed by 2005cbr January 23, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
2005cbr is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 1110
Reputation Score: 862
User Title: Eminent Member

Works great for me.

This is about the only medication that will consistently put me to sleep. I've tried other prescriptions and over the counter meds without much luck.
Tolerance builds pretty quickly. Not something you want to use daily.
I don't personally have any hang over effect but I know some people do.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
3.5
Efficacy  
 
3.0
Lack of side effects 
 
4.0
Reviewed by COSGringo January 24, 2014
Last updated: January 24, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)
COSGringo is a member of the Pharmacy Reviewer forum
Total Posts: 5817
Reputation Score: 3727
User Title: Banned

Hit or miss; stick to the extended release

I've used Ambien for many years off and on somewhat successfully. I think one key thing is I rarely take it more than once per week. I prefer the CR as it helps me stay asleep better.

I won't say that it works every time I've used it but probably over 60-70%. Since it's covered on my plan it's a no brainer. If you are used to using benzos I suspect this will be a fail for you.

I've left those out of my life for the most part now and I think they are best for only occasional use as a sleep aid.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Ambien
Medical Condition
Insomnia

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
More than 2 years
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Overall satisfaction 
 
1.0
Efficacy  
 
2.5
Lack of side effects 
 
0.5
Reviewed by rogue96 February 07, 2014

PLEASE BE AWARE THE WARNINGS ARE REAL, or not a be

I have used ambien (brand & generic) on & off for about ten years. At first I believed it was a miracle drug, it turned out to be a nightmare. My first experiences were perfect. I have suffered from bouts of insomnia for over 20 years. I took 5 milligrams my first time and worked like a charm. And this worked more or less for the next 7 years. At this point I had my 1st horrible side effect. I dont have much or any recollection except some vivid dreams. What was told to me and others was awful. I slept walked into my roommates room, babbled about needing the code, for what who knows. I even yelled at him to stop talking me "I'm sleeping'. My roommates came to the agreement I was on pcp or lsd or just lost my mind. The police and ems were called. I woke up in the hospital. I had been drug tested and came up negative for everything. I explained I took ambien & was told similar events have happened many others. The adverse effects have become more & more common to point that my girlfriend insisted (now I agree ) that I stop. Last summer a similar event happened where I remember taking my nightly dose then waking up in the ER. Again no drugs found in my system. My behavior was so disturbing my roommates asked me to leave. I have no recollection of anything I did but wanted to drive to work, @3am & only in boxers. This drug scares me. I have read many more experiences like mine. I was told by multiple doctors this is safer than Xanax or Klonopins. This Is simply not true. There are warnings that come with or on the script stating It (ambien, brand or not) may cause sleep walking, eating, driving or even having sex w/ no memory. I thought this was a joke. Its not. It is a rare side effect but bad enough I will never take it again.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Relevant Brand Name and Medical Condition

Brand Name
Generic Ambien
Medical Condition
Insomnia

Additional Information

How long have you taken this medicine for?
0-1 months
Overall rating 
 
0.5
Overall satisfaction 
 
0.5
Efficacy  
 
0.5
Lack of side effects 
 
0.5
Reviewed by edyth January 22, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

Zolpidem--No Good for Me

It did not help w/ my insomnia, and gave me a horrible headache to boot. I went back to using inexpensive clonazepam (.25 mg does it usually) or Benadryl.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13